Weezer – The 8 bit Album compilation release

8-bit Weezer

From GM4A

For most folks growing up with the NES, SNES, gameboy, and other classic consoles of the current chiptune era, another staple in our lives was good old 90’s rock. One such band was the ever amazing and often nerdy Weezer. In this vein, Pterodactyl Squad has organized, and finally released Weezer – The 8 bit Album compilation

…which as the title states, is an album “created using original videogame hardware running home-brew software, and vary radically in style, from minimal ‘one man and his Game Boy’ compositions to 8-bit inspired full band performances.”. The album is 14 covers by no less than the finest in chiptune music today.

I along with many others have been really looking forward to this tribute album, and very excited to have it released. The album is great even if you aren’t familiar with every Weezer song on the album, or if you don’t recognize the chippy artists paying tribute to them! As with all Pterodactyl Squad releases the album is free to download, so head to ptesquad.com right now and check it out!
Check out the full tracklist below!

1. Island In The Sun (Belmont’s Revisal) – videogame orchestra
2. Holiday – Anamanaguchi
3. El Scorcho – Tugboat
4. The World Has Turned And Left Me Here – Bit Shifter
5. You Won’t Get With Me Tonight – PDF Format
6. Hash Pipe – seal of quality
7. In The Garage – OxygenStar
8. You Gave Your Love To Me Softly – 🙁
9. We Are All On Drugs – Rabato
10. Jamie – Unicorn Dream Attack
11. Come To My Pod – Mahamajama
12. Why Bother? – I Fight Dragons
13. Buddy Holly – nordloef
14. I Do – arcadecoma.

I too have been waiting for this since it was first announced and I advise everyone, fans of both chiptunes AND fans of Weezer, to go get it out immediately!